Finishing it UP!

That’s what I say at the end of a set in my weight-lifting class.  As if, by being louder, I can make that last rep any easier.  Well, I’m saying it now in regards to the school year.

Yes, my older children finished school on Tuesday.  The two weeks before that are just nuts.  Other moms have written hilarious blogs about those two weeks of field trips and sports days and picnics and graduation slide shows.  I had to write out WHAT LUNCHES TO SEND IN on a calendar because some days the kids aren’t supposed to bring a lunch, sometimes they are supposed to just bring a drink, some days the lunches must be in a brown paper bag, and some days everything in the lunch bag must start with the letter ‘a.’  (Okay, I just made that last part up, but I wouldn’t put it past any of these end-of-the-year rulemakers)

Well, I WIN because I didn’t even have TIME to write a hilarious post.

Here’s the thing.  I was so turned around that I took the twins to THE WRONG BALLET RECITAL.  Here’s the second thing.  THEY WENT AHEAD AND DANCED IN IT.

I went rushing into preschool after the first of the month waving a check because I’d gotten the bill tucked into some other end of year papers.  I thought that they’d be kicked out of their graduation, turned away from education, but the preschool was very forgiving.

And, at the end of school, you have to find any missing library books and send in lunch i.o.u. money and end of year gifts.  Somehow I was in charge of the class gift this year and WE LOST IT.  Then we found it, but there was much blaming and running about in a disorganized way for those twenty minutes.

We made it to Evelyn’s 6-month post-chemo check up.  Her labs are looking good.

Made it to Diana and Chance’s well check-ups right after Diana’s 11th birthday.  Apparently she hasn’t had a visit since her 5th birthday.  I said, “She’s been well.”  They weren’t amused.  Anyway, the only reason I took them was for the summer camp form.  I didn’t know they were going to get shots, but I still got the stink-eye from both of them.

We finished swim school.  I was put-out because we missed lessons and their policy is not to do make-ups.  I explained that three kids missed two days which is six lessons that I paid for and I was just asking if Evelyn could also attend Sylvia’s two make-up classes (from missing when she broke her arm), but the answer was no.  So, I rocked in the rocking chairs and pouted for a bit.

I did a re-write for an online magazine and wrote a short story for a contest.

Overcome with too much responsibility, I returned Tenders and Hot Wings to the farm.  They are, according to Farmer Kathy, BFFs and hang out together while the rest of the chickens walk around and scratch at the dirt.

Then, Sunday, we dropped Diana and Chance off at camp.  We drove over to the boys’ side of camp.  There was literally a kid hanging from the rafters of the cabin.  They all had lax sticks (glad Mike thought to grab Chance’s).  There was much milling around.  Sleeping bags, still rolled up, were tossed onto bunks.  “When’s dinner?” was the predominant question.  I also heard a parent ask about showers.  I’m pretty sure the counselor hedged as he said that the boys would swim every day.

On the other side of camp, Diana’s cabin was huge.  Each of the girls had brought sheets for under the sleeping bags (I did, too).  Cute stuffed animals were perfectly arranged.  Some girls had brought rugs and slippers for beside their beds.  The bathroom and showers were inside the cabin.  The counselors were gathering the girls into a circle to play name games.  Where were they gathering? IN FRONT OF A BEAUTIFUL RIVER STONE FIREPLACE.  Obviously you do not need a fireplace in the summer, so colorful candles were artistically arranged in front.  Of course.

And….Diana and Chance were equally estatic with their cabins.

So, Evelyn and Sylvia will graduate from preschool on Thursday night.  Their gowns and caps are hanging up in the closet.  We’ll take pictures.

On Friday we will pick up Diana and Chance from camp.

And then I will flop over.  Summer will really and truly be here for the Woosleys.

Hope you are already enjoying yours!

Love,

Sherri

7 thoughts on “Finishing it UP!

Leave a Reply

