Resolutions

New Year’s Eve is only a couple days away.  We’re all going to stop eating holiday treats, right?  We’re going to be healthy – physically, mentally, and spiritually.  Start jogging again.  Do the Sudoku puzzles that were a holiday gift from ten years ago.  Maybe clean out the garage.  Get rid of baby clothes.  (Sure way to get pregnant.  Just sayin’)

As time gets closer to the ball in New York Times actually dropping, our resolutions get more grandiose.

An article in the Wall Street Journal said that fasting is the key to a long life.  I’m going to fast once a week starting in January.

This is the year I’m going to be a serious writer.  I’m going to write 2,000 words every day.  It will be like NaNoWriMo for the ENTIRE YEAR.

I’m going to watch SUPERNANNY or whatever childcare is currently on and NEVER RAISE MY VOICE TO MY CHILDREN AGAIN.  EVER.  In fact, I’m going to whisper.

I’m going to wake up an hour early every day and attack that pile of laundry that has taken over my basement.  I will be able to see the floor by February.  (True Story:  my dad had a duffel bag of clothing that needed to be sewn.  Finally he sat down with the sewing machine and mended everything in there.  Not one piece of clothing still fit my two older sisters or myself because he’d waited so long.  Moral: if you are going to sew, wash, fix something, make sure it still fits and/or is necessary.)

I’m going to read the Bible.  Every verse of all 66 books.  Then I’ll start on the Koran.

I’ll teach my kids to make their own beds.  No more soda in the house.  I’ll learn a foreign language.  I’ll be a better person and not tell lies and also give more generously and be more organized and take off my shoes at the front door and maybe take a typing course and I’ll ask out the cute girl in geometry and do a better job in school or college or at work and maybe in bingo at the retirement home.  I’ll do it all!!!!

And then the ball drops.  And the first three days of this new program are exhausting.  Change is hard.  You start sneaking sodas at work.  You’re too sore to work out.  Who even likes these brainiac number puzzles?

I’m no different.  I can think of a hundred ways — easy — that I need to improve.  But, what if I try something different this year and my resolution is to stop judging myself.  Stop seeing all the ways I need to be better, that I’ve messed up, that I was graceless and just wrong, and be a little kinder.

What if I don’t judge others either?  What if I try to see all of us as human beings trying to figure our way through this very confusing life?

Worst case: only 365 days till I can change my resolution.

Wishing you the best in 2014.

Love,

Sherri

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Resolutions

Leave a Reply

